IFAC Awards

IFAC prizes are divided into six general categories, each with its own subset of awards and prizes:

1. IFAC Fellows

2. Major Awards

3. IFAC Textbook Award

4. IFAC Journal Awards

5. IFAC Congress Prizes

6. IFAC Outstanding Service Award

The complete list of all past award winners can be downloaded here. 

For information on the operation of the Awards Program, see also the IFAC Awards Committee Guidelines.

The IFAC Foundation Kwon Award

2020 IFAC Foundation Kwon Award: Call for nominations

Purpose, Funding, and Presentation of the Award 

One of the aims of the IFAC Foundation is to promote the awareness and dissemination of the social relevance of automatic control. The IFAC Foundation recognizes at each IFAC World Congress the contributions of individuals or a group of individuals who through their work have shown how automatic control science and technology can contribute to significant advances in the broad area of “sustainable development”. This includes work on the topics of renewable and clean energy, management of energy, water and resources in general, control in agriculture, pollution control, climate control or similar.
The first award was made at the 2017 IFAC World Congress in Toulouse, and is fully funded by the IFAC Foundation. The IFAC Foundation Kwon Award is made in honour of Professor Wook Hyun Kwon whose initial donation fostered the creation of the IFAC Foundation.
Full-length high-quality papers submitted and accepted for presentation at the triennial IFAC World Congress may be nominated for this award. The winner (or winning team) receives a medal, and a certificate and monetary prize at the time of the IFAC World Congress. The next award will be made at the 2020 IFAC World Congress in Berlin.

Nomination Procedure 

Nominations of high-quality papers are solicited for this award. Nominations should be prepared according to the format described in the nomination form. Nominators should produce convincing documentation that explicitly describes the benefits and impacts of the proposed contribution. Nominations may also include reference letters. Self-nominations are allowed and are limited to one such self-nomination per author.
Nominations should be addressed to the Chair of the IFAC Foundation Board and sent to the email address indicated in the nomination form. Full-length high-quality papers submitted and accepted for presentation at the triennial IFAC World Congress may be nominated for this award.

Selection Criteria 

Nominated papers should be of the highest technical quality and demonstrate evidence of significant potential future impact on one or more of the sustainable development topics outlined above. The award selection criteria include:

  • The quality of the paper as reviewed by the World Congress International Program Committee (IPC).
  • The interest and impact of the topic on sustainability.
  • The relevance of the control solution to the problem.
  • Previous results and the forecasted evolution of the proposed methodology

In  particular, the nomination form should include a summary of how these criteria are addressed by the work described in the     nominated paper. Supporting documentation may be provided.

Selection Procedure 

The IFAC Foundation Board will appoint an Award Selection Committee that will examine all qualifying nominated papers and select a winner. This selection committee will propose a winner and an alternate to the IFAC Foundation Board. Based on the report of the Award Selection Committee, the IFAC Foundation Board may choose a winner or may choose not to give the award. The winner will be notified jointly by the Chair of the IFAC Foundation Board and the IFAC President.

Format of the Nomination

Nomination forms can be downloaded from the IFAC Foundation website (https://foundation.ifac-control.org/projects/ifac_foundation_award). A nomination, consisting of the completed nomination form with its supporting documents, should be sent by e-mail to the IFAC Foundation (foundationaward@ifac-control.org) as one single file (in .pdf format). The deadline for the submission of nominations is April 2020 (exact date to be determined).

Coordination with the IFAC World Congress IPC

The IFAC Foundation Board will appoint one of its members as a liaison (IFL) to work with the IFAC World Congress IPC. The IFL will usually also act as Chair of the Award Selection Committee. To facilitate this coordination:

  The 2020 IFAC World Congress call for papers will include a reference to the IFAC Foundation Kwon Award, and authors should indicate upon paper    submission if their paper should be considered for this Award.

   The Award Selection Committee may include among the list of candidate papers some papers recommended the IPC that fall within the award scope.

   The Award Selection Committee may utilize reviewer comments received from the IPC as part of their evaluation.

   The IFAC Foundation Board Chair will inform the World Congress IPC Chair as well as the IFAC President about the result of the selection  process.

2020 IFAC Foundation Kwon Award nomination form

Past winners of the IFAC Foundation Kwon Award

2017, Toulouse:
Authors: Hafeez, Salman; Weller, Steven R.; Kellett, Christopher M.

Paper title: 
Impact of Climate Model Parametric Uncertainty in an MPC Implementation of the DICE Integrated Assessment Model.